Ivan P. Phelan Award

The DSA's highest recognition, the award is named in honour of the late Ivan P. Phelan, a longtime executive at Avon Canada who was instrumental in establishing and guiding the Association for more than three decades. The award recognizes those who have made a significant contribution to the direct selling industry in Canada.

2020 Recipient

Susan Timmermeister, Director, Strategy and Business Services, Mary Kay. Sue has had a tremendous impact on the DSA and the Direct Selling Education Foundation (DSEF). A former recipient of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal and the DSEF Circle of Distinction award, she brings her unwavering integrity, solid business acumen, strong work ethic and robust knowledge of the industry to the table every day. Her contributions to the DSEF through the Academic Scholarship Program, Junior Achievement, high school and college events, business school programs, case studies, silent auction, Celebrating Excellence Awards and more, have been unparalleled by any other board member. “Sue has been actively supporting the DSA for many years and is someone who has always contributed greatly by volunteering her time repeatedly and most specifically for the benefit of all members through her work in leading and developing the Socio-Economic Impact study, said Helena Alexandre, DSA Board Chair and Vice President & General Manager, Arbonne Canada. "Sue dedicated countless hours over several months to this initiative which has been essential to the DSA and has ultimately provided our member companies with vital industry Information that we reference both within our organizations and with all levels of government."


Past Recipients

Name Year Company
Gina Bresciani 2019 USANA Health Sciences
Rhancha Trick 2018 Nature’s Sunshine Products of Canada
Helena Alexandre 2017 Arbonne International Canada
Nathalie Cormack 2016 Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
Janice Gerol 2015 The Pampered Chef
Joan Lee 2014 Direct Sellers Association
Dr. Derek Hassay 2013 Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary
Patricia King 2012 Nu Skin Canada Inc.
Angela Abdallah 2011 Amway Canada Corporation
Lynda Rose 2010 Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
Garry Ford 2009 Nature’s Sunshine Products of Canada Limited
Robin Bell 2008 Quixtar Canada Corporation
Ray Patrick 2007 Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
John Prevost 2006 mi3 Solutions
Judson Whiteside 2005 Miller Thompson
James Kalil 2004 Cutco/Vector Marketing Canada Ltd.
Melanie Hayden 2003 PartyLite Gifts Ltd.
W. Jack Millar 2002 Millar Wyslobicky Kreklewetz LLP
Murray Smith 2001 Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
Jim Hunking 2000 Amway of Canada Ltd.
Paul Hanson 1999 NuSkin Canada Inc.
Linda J. Herron 1998 Electrolux Corporation of Canada Inc.
Ross P. Creber 1997 Direct Sellers Association of Canada
Roberta M. Creber 1997 PartyLite Gifts
Margaret F. Csordas 1996 Beauty Counselors
Vic Prendergast 1995 Shaklee Canada Ltd.
Jacques Langevin 1994 Avon Canada Inc.
Robert H. Bradshaw 1993 Amway Canada Corporation
Stephen J. Locke 1992 Shaklee Canada Inc.
Gayle Gannon 1991 Creative Circle
Frank Wilson 1990 Amway Canada Corporation
Charles L. Snow 1989 Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
Ivan P. Phelan 1988 Avon Canada Inc.