Carrières
  • English
  • Français
Devenir member

Embrace 2021

Home / Embrace 2021

Sommet Virtuel Embrace 2021

22-24 juin
13:00  15 h 30 (HE)

Un événement exclusif pour les vendeurs directs opérant au Canada

Cet événement sera l’occasion d’apprendre, de s’inspirer, de s’amuser et de se faire une idée des enjeux actuels de l’industrie de la vente directe au Canada.

À qui devrait-on assister ?

Tous les employés des entreprises membres actives et fournisseurs de l’AVD peuvent assister à Embrace 2021.

Consultez notre Annuaire des membres et notre Annuaire des membres fournisseurs pour savoir si votre entreprise est un membre actif.

Pas membre ? Découvrez comment vous pouvez participer

Contactez-nous pour savoir comment vous pouvez assister à notre sommet virtuel. Il y a aussi d’autres avantages dont vous pourriez bénéficier en tant que membre. En savoir plus.

Nos hôtes

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 2

Peter Maddox

Président de l’AVD

Web Embrace Speaker gina 2

Gina Bresciani

Directrice des opérations et du service à la clientèle
USANA Health Sciences

Présidente AVD

Web Embrace Speaker Jackie 2

Jackie McClements

Vice-présidente et directrice générale
Monat Global Canada

Directrice AVD et Présidente FÉVD

Web Embrace Speaker Lynda

Lynda Rose

Directrice générale
Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.

Directrice AVD

Ordre du jour

22 juin – 13 h – 15 h 30 (HE)

Peter Maddox et Gina Bresciani

Haut-parleurs

Web Embrace Speaker

Une année de changements extraordinaires

Hatem Jahshan, PDG de Steeped Tea, parlera des défis et des opportunités auxquels son entreprise a été confrontée pendant la pandémie COVID-19 actuelle, et de la façon dont Steeped Tea continue de s’adapter pour réussir.

Web Embrace Speaker Cathy

Journée des conseillers en vente directe 2021

Cathy Sampaio-Lepiane, gestionnaire des communications et de la recherche à l’AVD, donnera un aperçu de la journée des vendeurs directs et de la façon dont les entreprises de vente directe peuvent participer à la célébration, en partageant une prise de conscience positive de l’occasion de vente directe qui se présentera au Canada le 15 septembre 2021.

Conférencier

Web Embrace Speaker Hamza

Où Maintenant ? Guide du leader pour sortir du chaos et naviguer vers l’avenir du travail

En raison des changements soudains et drastiques apportés par la pandémie COVID-19, les entreprises de vente directe ont été contraintes de faire face à une volatilité, une incertitude, une complexité et une ambiguïté accrues. Plus d’un an plus tard, sortant du chaos, ces entreprises font face à un autre défi : naviguer dans un avenir de travail qui approche à grands pas, une « nouvelle anomalie ».

Selon Boston Consulting Group, pour survivre, prospérer et être compétitives, les entreprises n’ont plus que deux ans (ou moins) pour atteindre le niveau qu’elles espéraient atteindre dans cinq ans. Pour relever ce défi, il faut une nouvelle philosophie du leadership et un saut significatif au-delà des anciens paradigmes. Entrez dans la « direction moderne » : un système d’action centré sur l’humain, favorable au changement, qui s’auto-perturbe et qui repose sur des valeurs.

S’appuyant sur des exemples contemporains de dirigeants modernes, Hamza Khan démontre qu’en opérationnalisant les valeurs entremêlées de servitude, d’innovation, de diversité et d’empathie, les dirigeants peuvent garantir que le taux de changement à l’intérieur de leurs entreprises excède le taux de changement à l’extérieur. Que vous soyez un leader récemment promu, un leader en voie de promotion ou un leader désireux de changer de perspective, cette présentation vous aidera à changer avant d’être forcé de changer. Et ce faisant, préparez votre entreprise à un avenir où le changement est la seule constante.

Web Embrace Speaker Tracie

Ce que nous avons appris sur les ventes et les incentives

Tracie Graham, directrice générale, Canada à USANA Health Sciences, discutera de la façon dont USANA maintient sa croissance actuelle des ventes et modifie ses programmes d’incitation pour en assurer le succès.

15 h – 15 h 30 (HE)

Réunion générale annuelle de l’AVD

23 juin – 13 h – 15 h 30 (HE)

Peter Maddox et Jackie McClements

Haut-parleurs

Web Embrace Speaker Joe 2

Défis et opportunités de vente directe dans un monde de médias sociaux

Joseph Mariano, président et chef de la direction de l’Association américaine de vente directe, fera le point sur la façon dont les réseaux de médias sociaux populaires, tels que Tik Tok, modifient leurs politiques communautaires pour restreindre, et même, dans certains cas, interdire le contenu MLM sur leurs plateformes.

Web Embrace Speaker Andrea

Intégrer la durabilité dans les activités et le mode de vie

Andrea Chase, directrice, Responsabilité d’entreprise et impact social, Arbonne, parlera de la façon dont Arbonne a intégré la durabilité dans ses activités et son mode de vie.

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 1

Lancement : Le défi de l’entrepreneuriat universitaire canadien

Le président de l’AVD, Peter Maddox, et Robert Burko, président et fondateur d’Elite Email, feront le point sur le lancement d’une nouvelle initiative du FÉVD, le Défi des entrepreneurs universitaires canadiens.

Web Embrace Speaker Huw

Le point sur les relations gouvernementales et la défense des droits

Huw Williams, d’Impact Public Affairs, fera le point sur les mesures prises récemment par le gouvernement et sur les occasions de défendre les intérêts de l’industrie de la vente directe.

15 h – 15 h 30 (HE)

Réunion générale annuelle de la FÉVD

24 juin – 13 h – 15 h (HE)

Peter Maddox et Lynda Rose

Haut-parleurs

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 1

Statistiques de l’industrie canadienne – Nouvellement publié

Le président de l’AVD, Peter Maddox, annoncera les Statistiques de l’industrie canadienne pour 2020.

Web Embrace Speaker Louise

Transformer la santé mentale au travail

Avec des gens qui passent plus d’heures au travail que n’importe où ailleurs, le milieu de travail joue un rôle important dans notre qualité de vie et influence grandement la santé et le bien-être en général. Avoir une main-d’oeuvre en bonne santé mentale est bon pour l’entreprise — il peut améliorer le rendement et réduire les coûts associés à l’incapacité, à l’absentéisme et au présentéisme.

Louise Stacey, gestionnaire principale de comptes nationaux, Santé mentale en milieu de travail de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, discutera de ce que vous pouvez faire dans votre organisation pour promouvoir la santé mentale et le bien-être.

Web Embrace Speaker brad

Un voyageparcours continu vers la croissance et le succès

Brant Wallace, directeur financier d’Immunotec, discutera des réussites et des défis auxquels sonsa entreprise a fait face au cours de la dernière année.

Haut-parleurs

Web Embrace Speaker

Hatem Jahshan

Web Embrace Speaker Cathy

Cathy Sampaio-Lepiane

Web Embrace Speaker Hamza

Hamza Khan

Web Embrace Speaker Tracie

Tracie Graham

Web Embrace Speaker Joe 2

Joseph Mariano

Web Embrace Speaker Andrea

Andrea Chase

Web Embrace Speaker Huw

Huw Williams

Web Embrace Speaker Lindsay

Lindsay Tompkins

Web Embrace Speaker Louise

Louise Stacey

Web Embrace Speaker brad

Brant Wallace

Web Embrace Speaker

Hatem Jahshan, PDG de Sipology par Steeped Tea

Hatem est le PDG du succès de vente directe, Sipology de Steeped Tea, aux côtés de sa femme Tonia. Si Tonia est la rêveuse, Hatem peaufine les détails et donne vie à la vision de Steeped Tea. Avec une formation en chimie et en génie chimique, il est un amateur de thé à feuilles mobiles qui veille à ce que chaque département de Steeped Tea fonctionne en douceur et efficacement.

L’entreprise a été classée 4 années de suite comme l’une des plus fortes croissances au Canada avec plus de 60 employés au siège social. En 2012, Steeped Tea a été présenté à l’émission Dragons’ Den de la SRC, avec Jim Treliving et David Chilton comme partenaires. Rester en avance sur la courbe de croissance phénoménale de ces dernières années a été le plus grand défi. Alors que toucher la vie de milliers de personnes en leur donnant une opportunité de gagner un revenu supplémentaire a été le plus gratifiant.

Steeped Tea est une société de vente directe qui se spécialise dans la fourniture de fêtes de thé à la maison, la vente de thé en feuilles et d’accessoires à travers le Canada et les États-Unis.

Web Embrace Speaker Cathy

Cathy Sampaio-Lepiane, Gestionnaire, communications et recherche de l’AVD

Au cours des 18 dernières années, Cathy a développé et mis en œuvre des stratégies de communication et de marketing, et a collaboré avec le gouvernement, les médias et d’autres intervenants clés pour défendre et faire connaître diverses associations canadiennes, agences gouvernementales ontariennes et organismes caritatifs locaux. Avant de travailler dans le secteur des communications, elle a occupé divers postes de gestion de projets et de marketing au sein d’entreprises privées. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en anglais et en économie de l’Université de York.

Passionnée par l’écriture et le récit, elle aime créer et partager des histoires positives et enrichissantes qui améliorent la vie des gens.

Web Embrace Speaker Hamza

Conférencier

 

Hamza Khan, Commerçant et entrepreneur multiprimé

Hamza Khan est un spécialiste du marketing, un auteur à succès et un conférencier vedette dont la conférence TEDx « Stop Managing, Start Leading » a été vue plus d’un million de fois. Il partage des points de vue exploitables sur la résilience, la productivité et le leadership pour aider les personnes et les organisations à prospérer dans l’avenir du travail. Grâce à ses services de conseil, d’écriture, d’enseignement et de parole, Khan donne aux gens et aux entreprises les moyens de transformer les idées en action.

De New York à Singapour, de Los Angeles à Sydney, Khan est un leader mondial de la pensée qui a parlé à des centaines de publics dans de nombreux secteurs d’activité, dans de nombreux pays. Parmi ses clients, on compte certaines des entreprises et organisations les plus dynamiques au monde, dont PepsiCo, LinkedIn, Deloitte, PwC, Trivago et plus de 100 collèges, et ses idées ont été présentées par des médias de renom tels que VICE, Business Insider et The Globe and Mail. Il est aussi l’auteur du best-seller d’Amazon The Burnout Gamble : Réalisez plus en battant le burn-out et en renforçant la résilience.

M. Khan travaille aux côtés des jeunes et des nouveaux talents en tant que directeur général du Student Life Network, la plus importante et la plus complète plateforme de ressources éducatives au Canada, qui touche plus de 2,7 millions d’étudiants. Il est également co-fondateur de Splash Effect, une agence de marketing et de création de boutique, ainsi que de SkillsCamp, une entreprise de formation aux compétences non techniques. En tant qu’éducateur, il est actuellement professeur au Seneca College et à l’Université Ryerson, où il enseigne le marketing numérique et les médias sociaux.

Web Embrace Speaker Tracie

Tracie Graham, Directrice générale, USANA Health Sciences

L’amour de Tracie pour les ventes directes a commencé par la vente d’Avon porte à porte pour aider à se lancer à l’université. Depuis 25 ans, Tracie partage sa passion pour la direction et l’inspiration d’équipes internes et externes de toutes tailles au sein de l’industrie de la vente directe. Tracie a trouvé la parfaite adéquation à USANA où leurs valeurs renforcent ses propres valeurs d’excellence, de communauté, de santé et d’intégrité.

En dehors de sa carrière, Tracie a joué un rôle actif au sein de l’AVD, siégeant à de nombreux comités, dont le conseil d’administration de l’AVD et en tant qu’ancienne présidente de l’AVD. Tracie vit à Markham, en Ontario, avec son fiancé Rob et trois enfants Owen, Gavin et Trent.

Web Embrace Speaker Joe 2

Joseph Mariano, Président et chef de la direction, US Direct Selling Association

Joseph Mariano a rejoint l’Association de vente directe en 1985 et a assumé le rôle de président en 2011. Auparavant, il était vice-président exécutif et chef de l’exploitation. En tant que chef de la direction de l’ASD, responsable en dernier ressort de tous les programmes et activités de l’association, Mariano est chargé d’assurer le leadership, le développement et la mise en oeuvre progressifs des politiques de l’Association dans les domaines du gouvernement, des consommateurs et des affaires internationales. Mariano représente les intérêts de l’Association dans les cinquante capitales d’État et au Capitole. Il sert de ressource personnelle aux sociétés de vente directe qui ont besoin de conseils généraux sur les tendances juridiques et commerciales générales qui affectent les vendeurs directs tant aux États-Unis que dans le monde.

Web Embrace Speaker Andrea

Andrea Chase, Directrice de la responsabilité sociale et de l’impact social, Arbonne

Andrea Chase est directrice de la responsabilité sociale et de l’impact social chez Arbonne, une société B certifiée. Auparavant, Mme Chase s’était spécialisée dans le travail avec les entreprises pour analyser et comparer les pratiques actuelles des entreprises afin de créer des stratégies d’impact social uniques, axées sur l’environnement et la mission, qui optimisent les profits tout en tenant compte de tous les intervenants de l’entreprise.

Andrea a fait ses preuves dans le domaine du leadership dans les industries environnementales et est experte en gestion de projet ; l’exécution de la marque et de l’identité ; le développement, le lancement et la conformité de produits internationaux ; l’analyse comparative et l’audit durables des entreprises ; et plusieurs certifications de durabilité spécifiques au processus, au produit et à l’entreprise.

La passion d’Andrea réside dans la gérance de l’environnement et l’éducation. Au cours des cinq dernières années, elle a servi la communauté du développement durable en tant que directrice générale de B Local Los Angeles, une communauté de Los Angeles B Corporations qui se consacre au partage des connaissances afin d’améliorer les pratiques d’affaires de chacun.

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 1

Peter Maddox, Président de l’AVD

Au cours de sa carrière, Peter a géré des dossiers portant sur des enjeux diversifiés, notamment les relations gouvernementales, les affaires réglementaires, les analyses marketing, l’engagement des membres, les communications, le développement des affaires et les ventes. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, il a la possibilité de mettre toutes ses compétences à profit pour aider l’organisation à atteindre ses objectifs stratégiques. Originaire de l’Australie, Peter a travaillé pour l’Association des ingénieurs professionnels australiens (Professionals Australia) et le Australian Pharmacy Guild. Il détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Chifley Business School et un diplôme en Marketing de l’Université de Tasmanie.

Web Embrace Speaker Huw

Huw Williams, Président, Impact Public Affaires

Huw se spécialise dans les relations avec le gouvernement et les médias et possède une vaste expérience des médias imprimés et des médias de radiodiffusion. Il apparaît fréquemment comme porte-parole de CBC et de CTV National News. L’expérience gouvernementale de M. Huw est diversifiée, puisqu’il a été chef de cabinet par intérim du vice-premier ministre du Canada ; en tant qu’adjoint principal du ministre des Affaires constitutionnelles ; et à titre d’adjoint législatif du président de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta.

Il a été nommé professionnel des affaires publiques de l’année à l’échelle mondiale par PRNews Magazine, a remporté le prix CSAE Griner pour l’excellence en affaires, est l’un des 100 meilleurs lobbyistes au Canada du Hill Times, et le « Top 40 under 40 Award » du Ottawa Business Journal pour la réussite professionnelle et l’engagement communautaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour communiquer avec Huw, visitez : Impact Public Affairs

Web Embrace Speaker Lindsay

Lindsay Tompkins, Éducatrice en médias sociaux

En tant que spécialiste du contenu et des médias sociaux, Lindsay aide les entreprises et les entrepreneurs à exploiter le pouvoir des médias sociaux pour générer des ventes, des pistes et une notoriété globale de la marque.

Ses stratégies de contenu créatives et attrayantes vous permettront d’accroître votre portée en ligne et de générer des ambassadeurs fidèles. La clé du marketing de contenu est de dire la bonne chose au bon moment et Lindsay vous aidera à établir des relations significatives (et rentables) avec vos clients.

Lindsay travaille aussi activement dans l’industrie de la vente directe depuis 2012 et a travaillé avec des consultants indépendants, des formateurs de l’industrie et des sièges sociaux d’entreprise pour augmenter leurs ventes et leurs efforts de recrutement en ligne.

Web Embrace Speaker Louise

Louise Stacey, Directrice principale du compte nationale; sante mentale au travail

Louise Stacey a une expérience diversifiée, notamment en matière de gestion des opérations, de gestion des comptes, de comportement organisationnel et de gouvernance sportive. À titre de gestionnaire de comptes principal, Santé mentale en milieu de travail, Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, Louise a passé les 6 dernières années à aider les employeurs à transformer la santé mentale au travail grâce à la campagne Pas moi-même aujourd’hui.

Travailler avec des organisations partout en Amérique du Nord pour les aider à s’aligner sur la Norme nationale sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques et leur fournir une approche proactive de la santé mentale dans leur milieu de travail. La campagne Not Myself Today offre un éventail incroyable d’outils et de méthodologies fondés sur des données probantes conçus pour transformer les cultures en milieu de travail et créer des environnements de travail psychologiquement sûrs et favorables pour les personnes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.

Sa mission est de faire une différence positive dans la vie des gens.

Web Embrace Speaker brad

Brant Wallace, Président et directeur financier, Immunotec

Brant Wallace est le président et directeur financier d’Immunotec, une entreprise mondiale du canal de vente directe. Il est responsable des opérations financières d’Immunotec, du positionnement stratégique, des questions de réglementation, de la conformité, de la technologie, de la gestion de projet et de l’affectation globale des ressources. Brant a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière dans le leadership, les finances, les opérations et les fusions et acquisitions. Il est l’ancien vice-président directeur des ressources et de la stratégie de Zurvita, Inc. (ZRVT); Président et chef de la direction de Nationwide Utilities Corporation (NWUC.OTC); Président d’Eagle International ; Responsable de la banque d’investissement de Mercantil Servicios Financeros ; et vice-président de Wallace & Co, AG. Brant possède une expertise supérieure en finance, opérations et développement d’entreprise pour stimuler une croissance de plusieurs millions de dollars. À cette fin, Brant a participé, ou a été directement responsable, de nombreuses initiatives mondiales qui ont connu une croissance de plus de 100 millions de dollars et a réalisé des transactions intermédiaires de l’ordre de 50 à 750 millions de dollars. Brant est également titulaire d’un MBA, d’un doctorat en philosophie du commerce international (DPhil) et d’une maîtrise en divinité (MDiv).

Commanditaires

Sponsor logos gold 2021 noback
Avalara
Exigo
Thatcher Technology Group
Sponsor logos silver 2021 noback
Millar Kreklewetz
Nexio
PayQuicker
Sponsor logos bronze 2021 noback
Formcor_Logo_Hor_retina
Production Sponsors
Diversified
Stagevision
media sponsor
The World of Direct Selling

Career centre
  • English
  • Français
Become a member

Embrace 2021

Home / Embrace 2021

Embrace 2021 Virtual Summit

June 22 – 24

1:00 p.m. –  3:30 p.m., ET

An exclusive event for direct sellers operating in Canada

This event will be an opportunity for learning, inspiration, fun and insight on the current issues facing the direct selling industry in Canada.

Who Should Attend?

All employees of DSA Canada Active and Supplier Member companies can attend Embrace 2021.

Check out our Member Directory and our Supplier Directory to see if your company is an active member.

Not a Member? Find Out How You Can Attend

Contact us to find out how you can attend our virtual summit. There are also other benefits you could be enjoying as a member. Learn more.

Hosts

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 2

Peter Maddox

DSA Canada President

Web Embrace Speaker gina w logo

Gina Bresciani

Director – Operations and Customer Service
USANA Health Sciences

DSA Canada Chair

Web Embrace Speaker Jackie w logo

Jackie McClements

Vice President and General Manager
Monat Global Canada

DSA Canada Director and DSEF Chair

Web Embrace Speaker Lynda w logo

Lynda Rose

General Manager
Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.

DSA Canada Director

Agenda

June 22 – 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m., ET

Hosts

1:00 p.m. – Opening and Introductions

Peter Maddox & Gina Bresciani

Speakers

1:10 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker

A Year of Extraordinary Change

Hatem Jahshan, CEO of Steeped Tea, will talk about the challenges and opportunities that his company has faced during the current COVID-19 pandemic, and how Steeped Tea continues to adapt for success.

1:40 p.m.

web fun fundraising

Fun & Fundraising

1:50 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Cathy

Direct Sellers Day 2021

Cathy Sampaio-Lepiane, Manager of Communications and Research at DSA Canada will provide an overview of Direct Sellers Day and how direct selling companies can join in the celebration, sharing positive awareness of the empowering direct selling opportunity across Canada this upcoming September 15, 2021.

2:00 p.m.

Keynote Speaker

Web Embrace Speaker Hamza

Where To Now? A Leader’s Guide To Emerging From Chaos And Navigating The Future Of Work

As a result of the sudden and drastic changes brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic, direct selling businesses were forced to contend with increased volatility, uncertainty, complexity, and ambiguity. More than a year later, emerging from chaos, these companies face another challenge: navigating a fast-approaching future of work, a “new abnormal.”

According to Boston Consulting Group, in order to survive, thrive, and compete successfully, businesses now have only two years (or less) to get to where they might otherwise have hoped to be in five. To meet this challenge requires a new kind of leadership ethos and significant leap beyond the old paradigms. Enter “modern leadership”—a system of action that is human-centric, change-friendly, self-disrupting, and values-driven.

Drawing on contemporary examples of modern leaders, Hamza Khan makes the case that by operationalizing the intertwined values of servitude, innovation, diversity, and empathy, leaders can guarantee that the rate of change inside of their businesses exceeds the rate of change on the outside. Whether you’re a recently promoted leader, a leader on the track to promotion, or a leader keen on shifting your perspective, this talk will help you change before you’re forced to change. And in doing so, prepare your business for a future in which change is the only constant.

2:40 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Tracie

Growth Strategies During COVID-19

Tracie Graham, General Manager, at USANA Health Sciences in Canada will share how DSA member companies are maintaining their current sales growth and modifying incentive programs for success.

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

DSA Canada Annual General Meeting

3:30 p.m.

Event Ends

June 23 – 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m., ET

Hosts

1:00 p.m. – Opening and Introductions

Peter Maddox & Jackie McClements

Speakers

1:05 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Joe 2

Challenges and Opportunities for Direct Selling in a Social Media World

Joseph Mariano, President and Chief Executive Officer, US Direct Selling Association, will be providing an update on how popular social media networks, such as Tik Tok, are changing their community policies to restrict, and in some cases, even ban MLM content on their platforms.

1:30 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Andrea

Incorporating Sustainability into Business and Lifestyle

Andrea Chase, Director, Corporate Responsibility and Social Impact, Arbonne, will be speaking about how Arbonne works to incorporate sustainability throughout their business and also into consumer’s lifestyles.

1:50 p.m.

web fun fundraising

Fun & Fundraising

2:05 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 1

Launch: The Canadian Academic Entrepreneur Challenge

DSA Canada President, Peter Maddox and Robert Burko, President and Founder of Elite Digital, will be providing an update on the launch of a new DSEF initiative, the Canadian Academic Entrepreneur Challenge.

2:20 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Huw

Government Relations and Advocacy Update

Huw Williams, of Impact Public Affairs, will provide an update on recent government actions and opportunities for advocacy by the direct selling industry.

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

DSEF Annual General Meeting

3:30 p.m.

Event Ends

June 24 – 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., ET

Hosts

1:00 p.m. – Opening & Introductions

Peter Maddox & Lynda Rose

Speakers

1:05 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Lindsay

How to Use Social Market to Attract Gen Z

In this session, learn from Millennial Social Media Speaker and Direct Sales Trainer, Lindsay Tompkins, on the top strategies you need to attract the next generation.

1:30 p.m.

web fun fundraising

Fun & Fundraising

1:40 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 1

Canadian Industry Statistics – Newly Released

DSA Canada President, Peter Maddox, will be presenting newly released Canadian Industry Statistics for 2020.

2:00 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker Louise

Transforming Mental Health at Work

With people spending more waking hours at work than anywhere else, the workplace plays a significant role in our quality of life and greatly influences overall health and wellness. Having a mentally healthy workforce is good for business — it can enhance performance and lower costs associated with disability, absenteeism and presenteeism.

Louise Stacey, Senior National Account Manager, Workplace Mental Health of the Canadian Mental Health Association, will discuss what you can do in your organization to promote mental health and well-being.

2:20 p.m.

Web Embrace Speaker brad

An Ongoing Journey to Growth and Success

Brant Wallace, President and CFO, Immunotec, will be discussing the successes and challenges his company has faced over this past year.

3:00 p.m.

Event Ends

Speakers

Web Embrace Speaker

Hatem Jahshan

Web Embrace Speaker Cathy

Cathy Sampaio-Lepiane

Web Embrace Speaker Hamza

Hamza Khan

Web Embrace Speaker Tracie

Tracie Graham

Web Embrace Speaker Joe 2

Joseph Mariano

Web Embrace Speaker Andrea

Andrea Chase

Web Embrace Speaker Huw

Huw Williams

Web Embrace Speaker Lindsay

Lindsay Tompkins

Web Embrace Speaker Louise

Louise Stacey

Web Embrace Speaker brad

Brant Wallace

Web Embrace Speaker

Hatem Jahshan, CEO of Sipology by Steeped Tea

 

Hatem is CEO of the direct-selling success, Sipology by Steeped Tea, alongside his wife Tonia.  If Tonia is the dreamer, Hatem refines the details and brings Steeped Tea’s vision to life.  With a background in chemistry and chemical engineering, he is a loose-leaf tea aficionado who ensures every department at Steeped Tea runs smoothly and efficiently.

The company was ranked 4 years in a row as one of the fastest growing in Canada with over 60 employees at the head office.  In 2012, Steeped Tea was featured on the TV show CBC’s Dragons’ Den with Jim Treliving and David Chilton joining as partners. Staying ahead of the phenomenal growth curve in the last few years has been the biggest challenge.  While touching thousands of people’s lives by giving them an opportunity to earn an extra income has been the most rewarding.

Steeped Tea is a direct selling company that specializes in providing home tea parties, selling loose leaf tea and accessories across Canada and the US.

Web Embrace Speaker Cathy

Cathy Sampaio-Lepiane, Manager, Communications & Research, DSA Canada

Cathy has spent the last 18 years developing and implementing communications and marketing strategies, and working with the government, media and other key stakeholders to advocate for and increase awareness for a variety of Canadian associations, Ontario government agencies and local charities. Prior to her work in communications she held various project management and marketing positions at private companies and holds an Honours B.A. in English and Economics from York University.

Passionate about writing and storytelling, she loves to create and share positive and enriching stories that make a difference in the lives of others.

Keynote Speaker

Web Embrace Speaker Hamza

Hamza Khan, Multi-Award-Winning Marketer and Entrepreneur

Hamza Khan is a multi-award-winning marketer, bestselling author, and global keynote speaker whose TEDx talk “Stop Managing, Start Leading” has been viewed over a million times. He shares actionable insights on resilience, productivity, and leadership to help people and organizations thrive in the future of work. Through his consulting, writing, teaching and speaking, Khan empowers people and businesses to transform ideas into action.

From New York to Singapore, from Los Angeles to Sydney, Khan is a global thought leader who has spoken to hundreds of audiences across many industries, in numerous countries. His clients have included some of the world’s most dynamic companies and organizations, including PepsiCo, LinkedIn, Deloitte, PwC, Trivago, and over 100 colleges, and his insights have been featured by notable media outlets such as VICE, Business Insider, and The Globe and Mail. He is also the author of Amazon bestseller The Burnout Gamble: Achieve More by Beating Burnout and Building Resilience.

Khan works alongside young people and new talent as Managing Director of Student Life Network, Canada’s largest and most comprehensive education resource platform, which reaches over 2.7 million students. He is also the co-founder of Splash Effect, a boutique marketing & creative agency, as well as SkillsCamp, a soft skills training company. As an educator, he is currently an instructor at Seneca College and Ryerson University, teaching courses on digital marketing and social media.

Web Embrace Speaker Tracie

Tracie Graham, General Manager, USANA Health Sciences

Tracie’s love of direct sales began by selling Avon door to door to help put herself through university.  Since, Tracie has been sharing her passion for leading and inspiring high-functioning external and internal teams of all sizes within the direct selling industry for the past 25 years. Tracie has found the perfect fit at USANA where their values reinforce her own of excellence, community, health and integrity.

Outside of her career, Tracie has played an active role within the DSA, serving on numerous Committees including the DSA Board and as past DSA Chair. Tracie lives in Markham, Ontario with her fiancé Rob and three kids Owen, Gavin and Trent.

Web Embrace Speaker Joe 2

Joseph Mariano, President and Chief Executive Officer, US Direct Selling Association

Joseph Mariano joined the Direct Selling Association in 1985 and assumed the role of President in 2011. Previously, he was Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer. As DSA Chief Executive Officer who has ultimate responsibility for all association programs and activities, Mariano is charged with providing progressive leadership, development and implementation of Association policies in the fields of government, consumer and international affairs. Mariano represents the Association’s interests in all fifty state capitals and on Capitol Hill. He serves as a personal resource to direct selling companies who need overall guidance on general legal and business trends that affect direct sellers both in the United States and worldwide.

Web Embrace Speaker Andrea

Andrea Chase, Director, Corporate Responsibility and Social Impact, Arbonne

Andrea Chase is the Director of Corporate Responsibility and Social Impact at Arbonne, a certified B Corporation. Previous to this role, Ms. Chase specialized in working with companies to analyze and benchmark current businesses practices to create unique environmental and mission driven social impact strategies that optimize profits while considering all company stakeholders.

Andrea has a demonstrated history of leadership in environmental industries and is an expert in project management; brand and identity execution; international product development, launch and compliance; sustainable business benchmarking and auditing; and several process specific, product specific and company-wide sustainability certifications.

Andrea’s passion lies in environmental stewardship and education. For the last five years, she has served the sustainability community as the Executive Director of B Local Los Angeles, a community of Los Angeles B Corporations dedicated to sharing knowledge to better each other’s business practices.

Web Embrace Speaker Peter 1

Peter Maddox, DSA Canada President

Peter has extensive experience in the association world and the marketing industry, having previously held positions with the Canadian Propane Association and Canadian Tire Corporation. As President of the Direct Sellers Association of Canada, Peter is excited by the opportunities for both the Association and the industry to make a growing positive impact on Canadian individuals and communities.

Over his career, Peter has managed files as diverse as government relations, regulatory affairs, marketing analysis, member engagement, communications, business development and sales. His role at DSA calls on all of these skills and experiences, to help achieve the organizations strategic goals. Originally from Australia, Peter has worked for both the Australian Professional Engineers Association (now Professionals Australia) and the Australian Pharmacy Guild. He has an MBA from Chifley Business School and a Marketing Degree from the University of Tasmania.

Web Embrace Speaker Huw

Huw Williams, President, Impact Public Affairs

Huw specializes in government and media relations and has extensive experience in print and broadcast media. He frequently appears as a corporate spokesperson on CBC and CTV National News. Huw’s government experience is diverse, having served as Acting Chief of Staff to the Deputy Prime Minister of Canada; as a Senior Assistant to the Minister of Constitutional Affairs; and as a Legislative Assistant to the Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly.

He has been named Worldwide Public Affairs Professional of the Year finalist by PRNews Magazine, won the CSAE Griner Award for outstanding “Business Excellence,” is one of The Hill Times’ Top 100 lobbyists in Canada, and the Ottawa Business Journal’s “Top 40 under 40 Award” for professional success and community involvment.

For more information or to contact Huw, visit: Impact Public Affairs

Web Embrace Speaker Lindsay

Lindsay Tompkins, Social Media Educator

As a content and social media specialist, Lindsay helps businesses and entrepreneurs harness the power of social media to generate sales, leads, and overall brand awareness.

Her creative and engaging content strategies will increase your reach online as well as help generate loyal ambassadors. The key to content marketing is to say the right thing at the right time and Lindsay will help you establish meaningful (and profitable) relationships with your customers.

Lindsay has also been actively working in the direct sales industry since 2012 and has worked with independent consultants, industry trainers and corporate head offices to increase their sales and recruiting efforts online.

Web Embrace Speaker Louise

Louise Stacey, Senior National Account Manager, Workplace Mental Health

Louise has a diverse background, including operations management, account management, organizational behavior and sport governance. As a Senior Account Manager, Workplace Mental Health, Canadian Mental Health Association, Louise has spent the last 6 years helping employers transform mental health at work through the Not Myself Today campaign.

Working with organizations all across North America to help align them with the National Standard for Psychological Health & Safety and provide them with a pro-active approach to mental health in their workplaces. The Not Myself Today campaign offers an amazing array of evidence-informed tools and methodologies designed to transform workplace cultures and create psychologically safe and supportive work environments for those with mental health challenges.

It is her mission to make a positive difference in the lives of people.

Web Embrace Speaker brad

Brant Wallace, President & CFO, Immunotec

Brant Wallace is the President & CFO of Immunotec, a global firm in the Direct Selling Channel. In his role he is responsible for Immunotec’s financial operations, strategic positioning, regulatory matters, compliance, technology, project management, and overall resource allocations. Brant has spent the majority of his career in Leadership, Finance, Operations, and M&A. He is the former SVP of Resources & Strategy of Zurvita, Inc. (ZRVT); Chairman & CEO of Nationwide Utilities Corporation (NWUC.OTC); President of Eagle International; Head of Investment Banking of Mercantil Servicios Financeros; and, Vice Chairman of Wallace & Co, AG. Brant possesses superior finance, operations and corporate development expertise in driving multi-million-dollar growth. To this end, Brant has been involved in, or directly responsible for, numerous global initiatives that have seen growth in excess of $100 Million and completed middle transactions in the $50 Million to $750 Million range. Brant also holds a MBA, a Doctorate of Philosophy in International Trade (DPhil), and a Masters of Divinity (MDiv).

Sponsors

Sponsor logos gold 2021 noback
Avalara
Exigo
Thatcher Technology Group
Sponsor logos silver 2021 noback
Canada Cartage
Millar Kreklewetz
Nexio
PayQuicker
Sponsor logos bronze 2021 noback
Formcor_Logo_Hor_retina
Production Sponsors
Diversified
Stagevision
media sponsor
The World of Direct Selling